Academic Calendar

Fall 2019

Event Day Date
New Student Move-in Thursday Aug. 22
Orientation for New Students Entering Fall 2019 Thur-Tues Aug. 22-27
Transfer and Exchange Student Registration Friday Aug. 23
Returning Student Move-in Saturday Aug. 24
New First Year Student Registration
Saturday
Aug. 24
Convocation Tues-Wed Aug. 27
First Day of Classes (No morning classes - classes start at 1:30 PM) 
Tuesday Aug. 27
Clearance Tues-Wed Aug. 27-28
Labor Day -- No Classes
Monday Sept. 2
Final Day to Withdraw for a 90% Tuition Refund Tuesday Sept. 3
Applied Music Add Deadline Friday Sept. 6
Last Day to Add 4-unit Classes and Independent Studies Friday Sept. 6
Final Day to Withdraw for a 80% Tuition Refund Tuesday Sept. 10
Applied Music Drop Deadline Friday Sept. 13
Final Day to Withdraw for a 70% Tuition Refund
Tuesday Sept. 17
CR/NC Forms Due Friday Sept. 20
Census Date
Monday Sept. 23
Final Day to Withdraw for a 60% Tuition Refund Tuesday
Sept. 24
Final Day to Change to Part-Time Status with a Tuition Adjustment Tuesday Oct. 1
Final Day to Withdraw for a 50% Tuition Refund Tuesday
Oct. 1
Last Day to Drop Classes without a "W" Friday
Oct. 4
Late Drop Period Begins Monday Oct. 7
Low Grade Notice Submission Period Mon-Fri  Oct. 7-18 
Mid-Semester Thursday Oct. 10
Fall Break -- No Classes Mon-Tues Oct. 14-15 
Last Day to add One and Two Unit Classes
Friday Oct. 18
Last Day to Audit a Class Friday
Oct. 18
Advising Week Mon-Fri Oct. 28 -Nov. 1
Registration Week for Spring 2020 Mon-Fri Nov. 4-8
Thanksgiving Break -- No Classes Wed-Sun Nov. 27-Dec. 1
Last Day of Classes (No afternoon classes - classes end at 11:30 AM)
  • Petitions for Incomplete Due
  • Last Day to Late Drop from Classes
Tuesday





Dec. 3





Reading Days Wed.-Thur.
Dec. 4-5
Final Exams Friday Dec. 6
Reading Days
Sat.-Sun. Dec. 7-8
Final Exams Resume
Mon.-Fri. Dec. 9-13
End of Semester Friday Dec. 13


Student Move-Out


24 Hours after Last Final
Exam or by Hall Closing
(whichever comes first)
Residence Halls Close at 10 AM Saturday Dec. 14
Grades Due Tuesday Dec. 17

Spring 2020

Event Day Date
Orientation for New Students Entering in the Spring 2020 Friday Jan. 17
Returning Students Move-in 10 AM Sunday Jan. 19
Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday -- No Classes Monday Jan. 20
First Day of Classes Tuesday Jan. 21
Clearance Tues-Wed Jan. 21-22
Final Day to Withdraw for a 90% Tuition Refund Monday Jan. 27
Applied Music Add Deadline Friday Jan. 31
Last Day to Add Four Unit Classes and Independent Studies Friday Jan. 31
Final Day to Withdraw for a 80% Tuition Refund
Monday Feb. 3 
Applied Music Drop Deadline Friday
Feb. 7
Final Day to Withdraw for a 70% Tuition Refund
Monday Feb. 10
CR/NC Forms Due
Friday
Feb. 14
Presidents' Day Holiday -- No Classes Monday Feb. 17
Census Date Tuesday  Feb. 18
Final Day to Withdraw for a 60% Tuition Refund Tuesday Feb. 18
Final Day to Change to Part-Time Status with Tuition Adjustment
Tuesday Feb. 25
Final Day to Withdraw for a 50% Tuition Refund Tuesday
Feb. 25
Last Day to Drop Classes without a "W" Friday Feb. 28
Late Drop Period Begins Monday Mar. 2
Mid-Semester Low Grade Notice Submission Period Mon-Thur Mar. 2 - 19
Last Day to Add One and Two Unit classes
Friday Mar. 6
Last Day to Audit a Class
Friday Mar. 6
Mid-Semester Friday Mar. 6
Spring Break -- No Classes
Mon-Fri Mar. 9-13
Advising Week Mon-Fri Mar. 23-27
Registration Week for Fall 2020 Mon-Fri Mar. 30 -
Apr. 3
Senior Comps Grades Due to Registrar Monday Apr. 13
College Honors Due to Registrar Monday Apr. 20
Founders Day -- No Classes Tuesday Apr. 21 
Last Day of Classes
  • Commencement Participation Petitions
  • for Non-Completers Due
  • Incomplete Petitions Due
  • Last Day to Late Drop from Classes
Tuesday






Apr. 28






Reading Days Wed-Thurs Apr. 29-30
Final Exams Friday May 1
Reading Days
Sat-Sun
May 2-3
Final Exams Resume
Mon-Fri May 4-8
End of Semester Friday May 8 

Student Move-Out
24 Hours after Last Final Exam or by Hall Closing (whichever comes first)
Senior Grades Due Tuesday May 12
Commencement Sunday May 17
Non-Senior Grades Due Monday  May 18
Residence Halls Close for Graduating Seniors at 10 AM Monday May 18