2020-2021 Catalog

Academic Calendar

Fall 2020

Event Day Date
Orientation for New Students Entering Fall 2020 Fri-Sun Aug. 21-23
First Day of Classes
Monday Aug. 24
Clearance Mon-Fri Aug. 24-28
Final Day to Withdraw for a 90% Tuition Refund Friday Aug. 28
Last Day to Add 4-unit Classes and Independent Studies Friday Sept. 4
Applied Music Add Deadline Friday Sept. 4
Final Day to Withdraw for a 80% Tuition Refund Friday
Sept. 4
Labor Day -- No Classes Monday Sept. 7
Applied Music Drop Deadline
Friday Sept. 11
Final Day to Withdraw for a 70% Tuition Refund
Monday Sept. 14
Census Date
Monday Sept. 21
Final Day to Withdraw for a 60% Tuition Refund Monday
Sept. 21
Final Day to Change to Part-Time Status with a Tuition Adjustment Monday Sept. 28
Final Day to Withdraw for a 50% Tuition Refund Monday Sept. 28
Last Day to Drop Classes without a "W" Friday
Oct. 2
Late Drop Period Begins Monday Oct. 5
Mid-Semester Progress Report Submission Period Mon-Fri  Oct. 5-16
Mid-Semester
Wednesday Oct. 7
Last Day to Add One and Two Unit Classes Friday Oct. 9
Last Day to Audit a Class Friday Oct. 9
Advising Week
Monday Oct. 19-26
Registration Week for Spring 2021
Tues-Fri Oct. 27-30
Last Day of Classes 

Friday

Nov. 20

Reading Days Mon-Tues
Nov. 23-24
Thanksgiving Break -- No Classes
Wed-Fri
Nov. 25 - Nov. 27
Final Exams Mon-Fri Nov. 30 - Dec. 4
Reading Days
Sat-Sun Dec. 5-6

Final Exams Resume

  • Last Day to Late Drop from Classes
  • Petitions for Incomplete Due
  • Last Day to Change to CR/NC

Monday Dec. 7
End of Semester Monday Dec. 7
Grades Due Monday Dec. 14

Spring 2021

Event Day Date
Orientation for New Students Entering Spring 2021 Friday Jan. 15
Returning Students Move-in 10 AM Sunday Jan. 16
Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday -- No Classes Monday Jan. 18
First Day of Classes Tuesday Jan. 19
Clearance Tues-Wed Jan. 19-20
Final Day to Withdraw for a 90% Tuition Refund Monday Jan. 25
Last Day to Add 4-unit Classes and Independent Studies Friday Jan. 29
Applied Music Add Deadline Friday Jan. 29
Final Day to Withdraw for a 80% Tuition Refund Monday Feb. 1
Applied Music Drop Deadline Friday Feb. 5
Final Day to Withdraw for a 70% Tuition Refund Monday Feb. 8
Presidents' Day Holiday -- No Classes Monday Feb. 15
Census Date Tuesday Feb. 16
Final Day to Withdraw for a 60% Tuition Refund Tuesday Feb. 16
Final Day to Change to Part-Time Status with Tuition Adjustment Tuesday Feb. 23
Final Day to Withdraw for a 50% Tuition Refund Tuesday Feb. 23
Last Day to Drop Classes without a "W" Friday Feb. 26
Late Drop Period Begins Monday Mar. 1
Mid-Semester Low Grade Notice Submission Period Mon-Thur Mar. 1 - 18
Mid-Semester
  • Last Day to Add One and Two Unit classes
  • Last Day to Audit a Class
Friday Mar. 5
Spring Break -- No Classes Mon-Fri Mar. 8-12
Advising Week Mon-Fri Mar. 22-26
Registration Week for Fall 2021 Mon-Fri Mar. 29 - Apr. 2
Senior Comps Grades Due to Registrar Monday Apr. 19
Founders Day -- No Classes
Tuesday Apr. 20
College Honors Due to Registrar Monday Apr. 26
Last Day of Classes
  • Petition Deadline for those who are ineligible to participate in commencement
Tuesday Apr. 28
Reading Days Wed-Thurs Apr. 28-29
Final Exams Friday Apr. 30
Reading Days Sat-Sun May 1-2
Final Exams Resume Mon-Fri May 3-7

End of Semester

  • CR/NC Forms Due
  • Incomplete Petitions Due
  • Last Day to Late Drop from Classes
Friday May 7
Student Move-Out 24 Hours after Last Final Exam or by Hall Closing (whichever comes first)
Senior Grades Due Tuesday May 11
Commencement Sunday May 16
Non-Senior Grades Due Monday  May 17
Residence Halls Close for Graduating Seniors at 10 AM Monday May 17