2023-2024 Catalog

Academic Calendar

The academic year at Occidental College consists of two 16-week semesters and one 10-week online summer session, each includes breaks and a final examination period.

The final exam schedule is updated on a semester-by-semester basis and can be reviewed here.

Fall 2023

Last Day to Add One and Two Unit ClassesFridayOct 13
Event Day Date
New Student Move-in Monday Aug 21
Orientation for New Students Entering Fall 2023 Tues - Mon Aug 22 - 28
Transfer and Exchange Student Registration Friday Aug 25
New First Year Student Registration Saturday Aug 26
Returning Student Move-in Saturday Aug 26
Convocation Monday Aug 28
First Day of Classes Tuesday Aug 29
Clearance Tues - Thurs Aug 29 - 31
Labor Day -- No Classes Monday Sep 4
Final Day to Withdraw for a 90% Tuition Refund Tuesday Sep 5
Last Day to Add 4-unit Classes and Independent Studies Friday Sep 8
Applied Music Add Deadline Friday Sep 8
Final Day to Withdraw for a 80% Tuition Refund Tuesday Sep 12
Applied Music Drop Deadline Friday Sep 15
Final Day to Withdraw for a 70% Tuition Refund Tuesday Sep 19
Census Date Monday Sep 25
Final Day to Withdraw for a 60% Tuition Refund Tuesday Sep 26
Final Day to Change to Part-Time Status with a Tuition Adjustment Tuesday Oct 3
Final Day to Withdraw for a 50% Tuition Refund Tuesday Oct 3
Last Day to Drop Classes without a "W" Friday Oct 6
Fall Break -- No Classes Mon - Tues Oct 9 - 10
Mid-Semester Progress Report Submission Period Mon - Sun Oct 9 - 22
Late Drop Period Begins Monday Oct 10
Last Day to Submit Internship (INT) Paperwork to the HCC Wednesday Oct 11
Last Day to Audit a Class Friday Oct 13
Mid-Semester Monday Oct 16
Advising Week Mon - Fri Oct 23 - 27
CR/NC Forms Due Friday Oct 27
Registration Week for Spring 2024 Mon - Fri Oct 30 - Nov 3
Thanksgiving Break -- No Classes Wed - Fri Nov 22 - 24

Last Day of Classes

  • Last Day to Late Drop from Classes
  • Petitions for Incomplete Due

Monday

Dec 4

Reading Days Tue -Wed Dec 5 - 6
Final Exams Thu - Fri Dec 7 - 8
Reading Days Sat - Sun Dec 9 - 10
Final Exams Resume Mon - Thu Dec 11 - 14
End of Semester Thursday Dec 14
Student Move-Out 24 Hours after Last Final
Exam or by Hall Closing
(whichever comes first)
Residence Halls Close 10 am Friday Dec 15
Grades Due by 12 pm Tuesday Dec 19

Spring 2024

Event Day Date
Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday -- No Classes Monday Jan 15
Orientation for New Students Entering Spring 2024 Friday Jan 19
Returning Students Move-in 10 am Saturday Jan 20
First Day of Classes Monday Jan 22
Clearance Mon - Wed Jan 22 - 24
Final Day to Withdraw for a 90% Tuition Refund Friday Jan 26
Last Day to Add 4-unit Classes and Independent Studies Friday Feb 2
Applied Music Add Deadline Friday Feb 2
Final Day to Withdraw for a 80% Tuition Refund Friday Feb 2
Applied Music Drop Deadline Friday Feb 9
Final Day to Withdraw for a 70% Tuition Refund Friday Feb 9
Final Day to Withdraw for a 60% Tuition Refund Friday
Feb 16
Presidents' Day Holiday -- No Classes Monday Feb 19
Census Date Tuesday Feb 20
Final Day to Change to Part-Time Status with Tuition Adjustment Monday Feb 26
Final Day to Withdraw for a 50% Tuition Refund Monday Feb 26
Last Day to Drop Classes without a "W" Friday Mar 1
Late Drop Period Begins Monday Mar 4
Mid-Semester Progress Reports Submission Period Mon - Sun Mar 4 - 24
Last Day to Submit Internship (INC) Paperwork to the HCC Wednesday Mar 6
Mid-Semester Thursday Mar 7
Last Day to Add One and Two Unit Classes Friday Mar 8
Last Day to Audit a Class Friday Mar 8
Spring Break -- No Classes Mon - Fri Mar 11 - 15
Advising Week Mon - Fri Mar 25 - 29
CR/NC Forms Due Friday Mar 29
Registration Week for Fall 2024 Mon - Fri Apr 1 - 5
Senior Comps Grades Due to Registrar Monday Apr 22
Founders Day -- No Classes Tuesday April 23
College Honors Due to Registrar Monday Apr 29
Last Day of Classes
  • Deadline to Petition to Participate in Commencement if Not Eligible by Policy
  • Last Day to Late Drop from Classes
  • Petitions for New Incompletes Due
Tuesday Apr 30
Reading Days Wed - Thurs May 1 - 2
Final Exams Friday May 3
Reading Days Sat - Sun May 4 - 5
Final Exams Resume Mon - Fri May 6 - 10
End of Semester Friday May 10
Student Move-Out 24 Hours after Last Final Exam or by Hall Closing (whichever comes first)
Residence Halls Close for Non-Graduating Seniors at 10 am Saturday May 11
Senior Grades Due at 12 pm Tuesday May 14
Commencement Sunday May 19
Non-Senior Grades Due at 12 pm Monday May 20
Residence Halls Close for Graduating Seniors at 10 am Monday May 20

Summer 2024

Occidental College offers a very limited number of courses during the summer as well as the opportunity to engage in independent studies and internships. Only current and incoming first-year and transfer Occidental College students are eligible to enroll in the summer session. Eligibility for individual courses may be further limited based on your enrollment status (admitted versus current student), timing of your admission, and verification of all matriculation requirements. All courses, including examinations, are offered remotely.

 

Event Day Date
Registration Begins Monday Apr 22
Memorial Day Monday May 27
First Day of Classes Tuesday May 28
Last Day to Submit Internship (INT) Paperwork to the HCC Wednesday May 29
Last Day to Add Four Unit Courses Friday May 31
Juneteenth -- No Classes Wednesday Jun 19
Last Day to Drop Classes without a "W" Tuesday Jun 25
Mid-Session Progress Reports Submission Period Tue - Fri Jun 25 - Jul 5
Last Day to Add Zero, One, and Two Unit Courses Friday Jun 28
Mid-Session Friday Jun 28
Independence Day -- No Classes Thursday Jul 4
Last Day to Change to CR/NC Grading Thursday Jul 11
Last Day of Classes Friday Aug 2
Reading Days Sat - Sun Aug 3 - 4
Final Exams Mon - Tue Aug 5 - 6
End of Session Tuesday Aug 6
Grades Due Friday Aug 9