2024-2025 Catalog

Academic Calendar

The academic year at Occidental College consists of two 16-week semesters and one 10-week online summer session, each includes breaks and a final examination period.

The final exam schedule is updated on a semester-by-semester basis and can be reviewed here.

Fall 2023

Event Day Date
New Student Move-in Monday Aug. 21
Orientation for New Students Entering Fall 2023 Tues - Mon Aug. 22-28
Transfer and Exchange Student Registration Friday Aug. 25
New First Year Student Registration  Saturday 

Aug. 26

Returning Student Move-in Saturday  Aug. 26
Convocation
Monday Aug. 28
First Day of Classes
Tuesday Aug. 29
Clearance Tues-Thurs

Aug. 29 - 31

Labor Day -- No Classes Monday Sept. 4
Final Day to Withdraw for a 90% Tuition Refund Tuesday Sept. 5

Last Day to Add 4-unit Classes and Independent Studies

Friday Sept. 8
Applied Music Add Deadline Friday Sept. 8
Final Day to Withdraw for a 80% Tuition Refund Tuesday
Sept. 12
Applied Music Drop Deadline
Friday Sept. 15
Final Day to Withdraw for a 70% Tuition Refund
Tuesday Sept. 19
Census Date
Monday Sept. 25
Final Day to Withdraw for a 60% Tuition Refund Tuesday
Sept. 26
Final Day to Change to Part-Time Status with a Tuition Adjustment Tuesday Oct. 3
Final Day to Withdraw for a 50% Tuition Refund Tuesday Oct. 3
Last Day to Drop Classes without a "W" Friday Oct. 6
Fall Break -- No Classes Mon-Tues Oct. 9-10
Mid-Semester Progress Report Submission Period Mon-Sun Oct. 9-22
Late Drop Period Begins Monday Oct. 10
Last Day to Submit Internship (INT) Paperwork to the HCC Wednesday Oct. 11

Last Day to Add One and Two Unit Classes

Friday
Oct. 13

Last Day to Audit a Class

Friday Oct. 13
Mid-Semester Monday Oct. 16
Advising Week
Mon-Fri Oct. 23-27
CR/NC Forms Due Friday Oct. 27
Registration Week for Spring 2024
Mon-Fri Oct. 30 - Nov. 3
Thanksgiving Break -- No Classes Wed-Fri Nov. 22- 24

Last Day of Classes

  • Last Day to Late Drop from Classes
  • Petitions for Incomplete Due

Monday

Dec. 4

Reading Days Tues-Wed
Dec. 5-6
Final Exams Thurs-Fri Dec. 7-8
Reading Days
Sat-Sun Dec. 9-10

Final Exams Resume

Mon-Thurs Dec. 11-14
End of Semester Thursday Dec. 14
Student Move-Out 24 Hours after Last Final
Exam or by Hall Closing
(whichever comes first)
Residence Halls Close 10 am Friday Dec. 15
Grades Due by 12 pm Tuesday Dec. 19

Spring 2024

Event Day Date
Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday -- No Classes Monday Jan. 15
Orientation for New Students Entering Spring 2024 Friday Jan. 19
Returning Students Move-in 10 am Saturday Jan. 20
First Day of Classes Monday Jan. 22
Clearance Mon. - Wed. Jan. 22-24
Final Day to Withdraw for a 90% Tuition Refund Friday 

Jan. 26

Last Day to Add 4-unit Classes and Independent Studies Friday Feb. 2
Applied Music Add Deadline
Friday Feb. 2
Final Day to Withdraw for a 80% Tuition Refund Friday Feb. 2
Applied Music Drop Deadline Friday Feb. 9
Final Day to Withdraw for a 70% Tuition Refund
Friday  Feb. 9
Final Day to Withdraw for a 60% Tuition Refund Friday
Feb. 16
Presidents' Day Holiday -- No Classes
Monday Feb. 19
Census Date Tuesday Feb. 20
Final Day to Change to Part-Time Status with Tuition Adjustment Monday  Feb. 26
Final Day to Withdraw for a 50% Tuition Refund Monday  Feb. 26
Last Day to Drop Classes without a "W" Friday Mar. 1
Late Drop Period Begins Monday Mar. 4
Mid-Semester Progress Reports Submission Period Mon-Sun Mar. 4 - 24
Last Day to Submit Internship (INC) Paperwork to the HCC Wednesday Mar. 6
Mid-Semester Thursday Mar. 7
Last Day to Add One and Two Unit classes Friday Mar. 8
Last Day to Audit a Class
Friday Mar. 8
Spring Break -- No Classes Mon-Fri Mar. 11-15
Advising Week Mon-Fri Mar. 25-29
CR/NC Forms Due
Friday Mar. 29
Registration Week for Fall 2024 Mon-Fri Apr. 1-5
Senior Comps Grades Due to Registrar
Monday
Apr. 24
Founders Day -- No Classes
Tuesday
Apr. 23 
College Honors Due to Registrar Monday Apr. 29
Last Day of Classes
  • Deadline to Petition to Participate in Commencement if Not Eligible by Policy
  • Last Day to Late Drop from Classes
  • Petitions for New Incompletes Due
Tuesday April 30
Reading Days Wed-Thurs May 1-2 
Final Exams Friday May 3
Reading Days Sat-Sun May 4-5 
Final Exams Resume Mon-Fri May 6-10
End of Semester Friday May 10
Student Move-Out 24 Hours after Last Final Exam or by Hall Closing (whichever comes first)
Residence Halls Close for Non-Graduating Seniors at 10 am Saturday May 111
Senior Grades Due at 12 pm Tuesday May 14
Commencement Sunday May 19
Non-Senior Grades Due at 12 pm Monday  May 20
Residence Halls Close for Graduating Seniors at 10 am Monday May 20

Summer 2023

Occidental College offers a very limited number of courses during the summer as well as the opportunity to engage in independent studies and internships. Only current and incoming first-year and transfer Occidental College students are eligible to enroll in the summer session. Eligibility for individual courses may be further limited based on your enrollment status (admitted versus current student), timing of your admission, and verification of all matriculation requirements. All courses, including examinations, are offered remotely.

 

Event Day Date
Registration Begins Monday April 24
Memorial Day Monday  April 29
First Day of Classes Tuesday May 30
Last Day to Submit Internship (INT) Paperwork to the HCC Wednesday
May 31
Last Day to Add Friday June 2
CR/NC Forms Due Friday
June 16
Juneteenth -- No Classes Monday
June 19
Last Day to Drop Classes without a "W" Tuesday
June 27
Mid-Session Progress Reports Submission Period Tues-Thurs June 27 - July 6
Mid-Session Friday June 30
Independence Day -- No Classes
Tuesday
July 4
Last Day of Classes              Friday
August 4
Reading Days Sat-Sun August 5-6
Final Exams Mon-Tues August 7-8
End of Session Tuesday August 8
Grades Due Friday August 11